Community > Forum > The Spaceflight Cafe > How to create a satellite?

How to create a satellite?

Posted by: jubjub2398 - Wed Sep 09, 2015 5:23 pm
 [ 4 posts ] 
How to create a satellite? 
Spaceflight Enthusiast
Spaceflight Enthusiast
Post How to create a satellite?   Posted on: Wed Sep 09, 2015 5:23 pm
Just to preface, I have done extensive research on Google and have found nothing that satisfies me. I'm also relatively new to space exploration.

My question is, "How would one create and control a satellite in orbit?"

I understand the basic answer is most likely radio to control the satellite, but how specifically would one do this? What parts would be needed? Where can I buy them? How would the control actually be communicated? Do I need to code them and then transform them into radio to be re-translated back into code at the satellite? I am just curios about components for it. Any answer would be appreciated and any help gladly accepted. Thank you.

Moon Mission Member
Moon Mission Member
Post Re: How to create a satellite?   Posted on: Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:57 pm
Okay, assuming you wanted to do a small private spacecraft... The first thing you'll need to do is paperwork. Lots of paperwork. You will need to clear with your government an orbital slot, or at least inform them that you intend to launch a low orbit (~200km), short-life (~2 weeks or so) object. Then you need to apply for a piece of the radio spectrum and license to operate a space based radio transmitter. Then you need to apply for a radio operators license and (usually HAM) frequency and call sign. Any of the above can be disapproved by a multitude of gatekeepers who have no motivation in allowing you use "their" space and airwaves.