Headlines > News > LIVE COVERAGE: FAILURE SpaceX Falcon 1 Launch (updated 3:36 GMT)

LIVE COVERAGE: FAILURE SpaceX Falcon 1 Launch (updated 3:36 GMT)

Published by Klaus Schmidt on Sat Aug 2, 2008 6:56 pm
Share
More share options
Tools

3:36 GMT (11:36 pm EDT): There has been an anomaly with the rocket.

3:36 GMT (11:36 pm EDT): The rocket switched to inertial guidance mode.

3:35 GMT (11:35 pm EDT): The Falcon is now supersonic and passed Max-Q, the maximum dynamic pressure.

http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_028.jpg
http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_027.jpg
http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_026.jpg
http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_025.jpg
http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_024.jpg
http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_023.jpg
http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_022.jpg
http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_021.jpg
http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_020.jpg
http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_019.jpg
http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_018.jpg
http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_017.jpg
http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_016.jpg
http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_015.jpg
http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_014.jpg
http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_013.jpg

3:34 GMT (11:34 pm EDT): Liftoff of the Falcon 1 rocket carrying Trailblazer, PRESat and NanoSail-D.

3:33 GMT (11:33 pm EDT): One minute until launch.

3:29 GMT (11:29 pm EDT): Five minutes until launch. All systems are go for launch. Strongback again retracted.

http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_012.jpg

3:23 GMT (11:23 pm EDT): Countdown resumed at T-11 minutes.

3:08 GMT (11:08 pm EDT): The clock is reset to T-11 minutes, 1 minute before the terminal countdown and kept on hold until it is ensured that the problem can be solved which was an engine parameter 1% off-limit.

3:04 GMT (11:04 pm EDT): The launch was aborted directly before engine ignition due to some off-limit data. The exact reason is currently investigated.

3:00 GMT (11:00 pm EDT): Launch abort.

http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_011.jpg
http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_010.jpg
http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_009.jpg

2:59 GMT (10:59 pm EDT): One minute until launch. The Merlin 1C will be ignited 2.5 seconds before liftoff to ensure proper operation.

http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_008.jpg

2:55 GMT (10:55 pm EDT): Five minutes until launch. All systems are go for launch.

http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_007.jpg

2:53 GMT (10:53 pm EDT): The strongback, basically the launch tower is retracted.

2:50 GMT (10:50 pm EDT): The terminal count, an automatic sequence, has begun.

2:45 GMT (10:45 pm EDT): T-15 minutes and counting. All systems are on go. Second stage is fueled as well.

2:32 GMT (10:32 pm EDT): The weather officer reports good weather for launch.

2:30 GMT (10:30 pm EDT): 30 minutes until the launch.

2:27 GMT (10:27 pm EDT): First stage is fueled.

2:23 GMT (10:23 pm EDT): Fuel loading again has begun.

2:05 GMT (10:05 pm EDT): Clock is ticking again at T-55 minutes.

1:18 GMT (9:18 pm EDT): The new launch time is expected to be around 2:00 GMT (10:00 pm EDT).

1:12 GMT (9:12 pm EDT): Fuel offloading has been stopped and fuel loading started again.

http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_006.jpg

0:56 GMT (8:56 pm EDT): Fuel offloading occured due to the RP1 getting too cold during the Helium pressure gas cooling process. A similar procedure was chosen in 2007 during the second launch of the Falcon 1.

0:48 GMT (8:48 pm EDT): Fuel is offloaded from the first and second stages.

0:40 GMT (8:40 pm EDT): Another Hold was called at T-16 minutes.

0:00 GMT (8:00 pm EDT): The clock is ticking again at T-55 minutes. That makes a launch at 0:55 GMT.

http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_005.jpg

23:37 GMT (7:37 pm EDT): The countdown should resume in a few minutes for a launch at 0:40 GMT (8:40 pm EDT).

23:34 GMT (7:34 pm EDT): LOX fueling is complete now, topping off the oxygen tanks has started.

http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_004.jpg

23:23 GMT (7:23 pm EDT): The clock is still on hold. The LOX fueling is now 50% complete for the second stage and completely done for the first stage.

23:12 GMT (7:12 pm EDT): The clock has been stopped again at T-55minutes.

http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_003.jpg

22:55 GMT (6:55 pm EDT): 1:10 hour until launch. Launch time is then 0:05 GMT. Liquid oxygen loading has begun.

http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_002.jpg

22:29 GMT (6:29 pm EDT): Another delay by 30 minutes to 0:00 GMT.

22:08 GMT (6:08 pm EDT): SpaceX delayed the launch to 23:30 GMT. 30 minutes later than planned.

http://spacefellowship.com/uploads/SpaceX/spacex_001.jpg

20:53 GMT (4:53 pm EDT): SpaceX reports that the countdown has started at T-2 hours.

20:50 GMT (4:50 pm EDT): Pad preparations have been completed. Helium is filling and chilling nominally. Tanks have been purged.

20:00 GMT (4:00 pm EDT): Launch will occur same to the first two launches from Omelek Island, Kwajalein in the Pacific. The satellites today weigh a total of 170 kilograms. The Falcon rocket stands a bit over 21 meters tall and weighs nearly 30 tonnes and is powered by the Merlin 1C engine in the first and the Kestrel engine in the second stage.

19:54 GMT (3:54 pm EDT): SpaceX has now confirmed the launch attempt today. The launch window will open at 23:00 GMT (7 pm EDT) for 5 hours.

The payload consists of the DoD satellite Trailblazer, the Malaysian payload adapter ATSB and 2 NASA satellites: PRESat and NanoSail-D.

Feel free to discuss this article in the forum… or join the SpaceFellowship Chat.

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2014 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use