Headlines > News > Russia’s Progress M-18M Spacecraft Splashes Down in Pacific

Russia’s Progress M-18M Spacecraft Splashes Down in Pacific

Published by Klaus Schmidt on Fri Jul 26, 2013 6:18 am via: RIA Novosti
Share
More share options
Tools
Tags

MOSCOW – Fragments of Russia’s Progress M-18M space freighter sunk safely in the Pacific Ocean after re-entering the atmosphere on Friday, a spokesman for the Russian mission control center said.

The spacecraft undocked from the International Space Station (ISS) shortly after midnight Moscow time and started its final journey towards a remote location in the Pacific Ocean known as the “spacecraft cemetery.”

“At 4:42 Moscow time [00:42 a.m. GMT], fragments of the space freighter fell in the Pacific Ocean approximately 4,000 km from New Zealand’s capital Wellington,” the mission control spokesman said.

The launch of the next Russian cargo spacecraft to the ISS, Progress M-20M, is scheduled to take place at 00:45 Moscow time on Sunday (8:45 p.m. GMT on Saturday) from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan.

Copyright 2013 RIA Novosti. All rights reserved.

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2014 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use