Headlines > News > Small Asteroid Between Earth and Moon Tonight

Small Asteroid Between Earth and Moon Tonight

Published by Klaus Schmidt on Sat Jun 8, 2013 6:26 am via: NASA
Share
More share options
Tools
Tags

Small asteroid 2013 LR6 will safely fly past this evening at 9:42 p.m. PDT (which is June 8 at 12:42 a.m. EDT/June 8 at 04:42 UTC) at a distance of about 65,000 miles (105,000 kilometers) above Earth’s surface. The space rock, which is about 30 feet (10 meters) in diameter, will be above the Southern Ocean, south of Tasmania, at the time of closest approach. Asteroid 2013 LR6 was discovered by the NASA-sponsored Catalina Sky Survey on June 6.

NASA’s Near-Earth Object Program at NASA Headquarters, Washington, manages and funds the search, study and monitoring of asteroids and comets whose orbits periodically bring them close to Earth. JPL manages the Near-Earth Object Program Office for NASA’s Science Mission Directorate in Washington. JPL is a division of the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena.

This illustration shows the path of the small asteroid 2013 LR6, which will safely pass within 65,000 miles (105,000 kilometers) of Earth on June 7 at 9:42 p.m. PDT (June 8 at 12:42 a.m. EDT). Image credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech.

This illustration shows the path of the small asteroid 2013 LR6, which will safely pass within 65,000 miles (105,000 kilometers) of Earth on June 7 at 9:42 p.m. PDT (June 8 at 12:42 a.m. EDT). Image credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech.

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2014 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use