Headlines > News > ILS Launches Mexican Telecoms Satellite

ILS Launches Mexican Telecoms Satellite

Published by Klaus Schmidt on Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:50 pm via: RIA Novosti
Share
More share options
Tools
Tags

BAIKONUR (Kazakhstan) – Russia’s Proton-M carrier rocket carrying a Mexican telecommunications satellite blasted off on Tuesday from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan, the Russian Federal Space Agency Roscosmos reported.

The launch of the Satmex-8 satellite was initially scheduled for December 27, but was postponed following the Yamal-402 satellite trouble which involved a glitch in Proton-M’s Briz-M booster.

“The Proton launch was carried out as scheduled – at 23:06 Moscow time [7:06 p.m. GMT]. The separation of the spacecraft from the Briz-M booster is slated for 08:19 Moscow time [4:19 a.m. GMT] on Wednesday, March 27,” a Roscosmos spokesman said.

Satmex-8, operated by Mexican Satellites Mexicanos S.A. de C.V. (Satmex), is a high-power C and Ku-band satellite that replaces Satmex-5 and will provide Fixed Satellite Services (FSS) in both North and South America.

The new satellite, which has a service life of 15 years, will augment the current Satmex fleet in providing services such as broadband, voice and data transmission, and video broadcasting.

Copyright 2013 RIA Novosti. All rights reserved.

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2014 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use