Headlines > News > Russia Launches Cluster of Four Satellites

Russia Launches Cluster of Four Satellites

Published by Klaus Schmidt on Sat Jul 28, 2012 3:56 am via: RIA Novosti
Share
More share options
Tools
Tags

Russia’s Space Forces launched early on Saturday a Rokot carrier rocket with a Cosmos class military satellite and three civilian satellites on board, spokesman Col. Alexey Zolotukhin said.

The Rokot blasted off from the Plesetsk space center in northern Russia at 05.35 a.m. Moscow time (01:35 GMT).

The civilian payload includes two Gonets-M telecoms satellites and a MiR scientific microsatellite.

The satellites were put into designated orbits at 07.21 a.m Moscow time (03:21 GMT), as scheduled.

The classified military satellite received designation Cosmos 2841 after reaching the orbit. It will join a Russian network of about 70 military reconnaissance satellites.

The light-class Rokot launch vehicle is a modified version of the Russian RS-18 (SS-19 Stiletto) intercontinental ballistic missile. It uses the two original lower stages of the ICBM, in conjunction with a Breeze-KM upper-stage for commercial payloads.

According to the Russian Defense Ministry, a total of 16 Rokot launches have been carried out from the Plesetsk site since the first launch on May 16, 2000.

However, Rokot launches have been suspended for about 18 months after a Rokot launched on February 1, 2011 failed to put the Geo-IK-2 military satellite into the designated orbit.

Copyright 2012 RIA Novosti. All rights reserved.

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2014 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use