Headlines > News > New Station Crew Members to Arrive Early Tuesday

New Station Crew Members to Arrive Early Tuesday

Published by Klaus Schmidt on Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:29 am via: NASA
More share options

Three new Expedition 32 crew members are scheduled to dock to the Rassvet module of the International Space Station at 12:52 a.m. EDT Tuesday. Flight Engineers Suni Williams, Yuri Malenchenko and Aki Hoshide launched aboard the Soyuz TMA-05M spacecraft at 10:40 p.m. Saturday from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, beginning a two-day journey to the orbiting outpost.

Williams, Malenchenko and Hoshide will join current station residents Commander Gennady Padalka and Flight Engineers Joe Acaba and Sergei Revin when the hatches open a little over three hours later.

Live coverage of the docking begins at 12:15 a.m. on NASA TV with hatch opening and welcome ceremony coverage at 3 a.m.

The station crew is set for a sleep period six hours earlier than normal Monday to accommodate the arrival of their crewmates, with wake up set for 8:00 p.m. to begin Soyuz docking preparations.

Before their early sleep period, the station crew members worked with a variety of ongoing science and maintenance activities.

Revin worked with the radiation payload suite Matryoshka-R, which is designed for sophisticated radiation studies and is named after the traditional Russian set of nested dolls.

Padalka worked in the Russian segment of the station, monitoring its systems and performing preventative maintenance on the ventilation system.

Acaba performed some training with the Robotics On-board Trainer to prepare for the rendezvous and capture of the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency’s third H-II Transfer Vehicle set to launch to the station on Friday.

Acaba also performed some maintenance on the EXPRESS rack 5 utility drawer lid latches. Housed in a refrigerator-size container that acts as an exterior shell, each EXPRESS rack enables quick, simple integration of up to ten payloads.

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2018 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use