Headlines > News > Russia Launches Proton-M Rocket with Arab Telecoms Satellite

Russia Launches Proton-M Rocket with Arab Telecoms Satellite

Published by Klaus Schmidt on Tue Apr 24, 2012 5:17 am via: RIA Novosti
Share
More share options
Tools
Tags

A Proton-M carrier rocket with the YahSat 1B telecommunications satellite on board has been launched from the Baikonur Space Center in Kazakhstan, Russia’s Federal Space Agency Roscosmos said.

“The launch took place at the set time,” a Roscosmos spokesman said. “The separation of the satellite from the Briz-M upper stage is scheduled for 11:30 a.m. Moscow time [07:30 GMT].”

The launch, which occurred at 02:18 a.m. Moscow time on Tuesday (22:18 GMT Monday), had been approved by a special government commission on Monday.

The YahSat-1B satellite was built by Astrium/Thales Alenia Space consortium for the Al Yah Satellite Communications Company (United Arab Emerites).

The 6-ton satellite carries Ka-band transponders for commercial and military communications.

Copyright 2012 RIA Novosti. All rights reserved.

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2014 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use