Headlines > News > LIVE COVERAGE: Ariane 5 SPACEWAY 3 and BSAT-3a Launch (updated 0:18 GMT)

LIVE COVERAGE: Ariane 5 SPACEWAY 3 and BSAT-3a Launch (updated 0:18 GMT)

Published by Klaus Schmidt on Tue Aug 14, 2007 9:06 pm
Share
More share options
Tools

0:18 GMT (7:18 pm EDT): Successful separation of BSAT-3a. Another successful Ariane launch came to its end.

0:16 GMT (7:16 pm EDT): Separation of the Sylda 5 payload structure in order to free the underlying BSAT-3a.

0:11 GMT (7:11 pm EDT): The SPACEWAY 3 satellite is separated.

0:09 GMT (7:09 pm EDT): Shut-down of the upper stage. The next steps are the separation of the satellites and the payload structure Sylda 5.

23:53 GMT (6:53 pm EDT): Main engine cutoff and separation of the first stage. The second cryogenic stage ignited. The ESC-A upper stage with its HM-7B engine will now burn for 15 minutes.

23:47 GMT (6:47 pm EDT): The payload fairing is jettisoned. As the rocket reached over 100 kilometers altitude and left the dense atmosphere, this cover is no longer needed.

23:46 GMT (6:46 pm EDT): The two solid rocket boosters have been jettisoned after 140 seconds. The main stage continues to push the rocket skywards.

23:44 GMT (6:44 pm EDT): Liftoff of the Ariane 5 ECA rocket carrying SPACEWAY 3 and BSAT-3a.

23:43 GMT (6:43 pm EDT): T-1. Switched to onboard power. Everything is ready for the launch of the Ariane 5 rocket. The Vulcain main engine will be ignited 7 seconds before the boosters to ensure proper operation.

23:40 GMT (6:40 pm EDT): T-4. The tanks are pressurised for flight.

23:37 GMT (6:37 pm EDT): T-7. The so-called synchronized sequence is started. This sequence runs completely automated. If a problem occurs the countdown have to be reset to the start of the automated sequence.

23:29 GMT (6:29 pm EDT): 15 minutes remaining until the launch. Everything is currently on go.

22:44 GMT (6:44 pm EDT): The clock says one hour until launch. The weather looks fine for launch.

18:56 GMT (2:56 pm EDT): The fueling for the Ariane 5 main stage has begun. The stage is powered by the Vulcain 2 engine feeded by liquid oxygen (LOX) and liquid hydrogen (LH2). Today’s launch will be the 33rd for Ariane 5 and the 177th for the Ariane family. We are under 5 hours from the launch now.

August 14, 2007

August 13, 2007: (Arianespace) – The Ariane 5 ECA vehicle emerged from its Final Assembly Building this morning at 11:30 a.m., and covered the 2.8-km. distance to the ELA-3 launch zone in less than one hour. This Ariane 5 is installed on one of two mobile launch tables operational for the workhorse commercial launcher, which ride on a system of dual rail tracks connecting the major infrastructure elements at the Spaceport.
Weather was near perfect for today’s rollout, with a nearly cloudless sky directly above the Spaceport’s launch zone.

August 13, 2007: The Ariane 5 rocket with its dual payload is ready for the launch tomorrow. It will be rolled out to the launch pad today afternoon.

The payload consists of two satellites weighing a total of 8,042 kilograms:
SPACEWAY 3 is a Ka-band satellite to be operated by Hughes Network Systems LLC. It weighs about 6,075 kilograms.
BSAT-3a, based on the A2100 A model from Lockheed Martin Commercial Space Systems, has twelve 130-watt Ku-band channels to provide telecommunications services to Japan. It has a weight of 1,980 kilograms.

The Ariane 5 will fly in its ECA version with the cryogenic upper stage ESC-A powered by the HM-7B engine. It uses the Sylda dual payload structure. The launch window opens on August 14 at 7:44 pm EDT (23:44 GMT) and remains open until 8:21 pm EDT (August 15 0:21 GMT).

Copyright 2007 The International Space Fellowship. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.

Feel free to discuss this article in the forum…

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2014 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use