Headlines > News > LIVE COVERAGE: Space Shuttle STS-118 Launch (updated 23:15 GMT)

LIVE COVERAGE: Space Shuttle STS-118 Launch (updated 23:15 GMT)

Published by Sigurd De Keyser on Wed Aug 8, 2007 3:54 pm
Share
More share options
Tools

23:15 GMT (7:15 p.m. EDT): The firing of the OMS was successful. The next task for the crew will be the opening of the payload bay doors in order to activate the radiators for cooling.

23:13 GMT (7:13 p.m. EDT): The Orbital Maneuvering System (OMS) is fired for the first time to circularize the orbit. This OMS 2 burn will take about two and a half minutes.

22:49 GMT (6:49 p.m. EDT): The Shuttle will fire its Orbital Maneuvering System several times over the next hours to circularize the orbit and rendezvous with the International Space Station.

22:45 GMT (6:45 p.m. EDT): Main Engine Cut-Off or MECO. The Shuttle used all the fuel from the External Tank and shut down its three main engines. The main tank is jettisoned and photographed to check for missing foam.

22:38 GMT (6:38 p.m. EDT): Jettison of the solid rocket boosters. The Shuttle reached 48 kilometers altitude.

22:37 GMT (6:37 p.m. EDT): The Shuttle reached Max-Q, the maximum dynamic pressure in about 10 kilometers altitude. The main engines are therefore throttled back to 72%.

22:36 GMT (6:36 p.m. EDT): We have lift-off of Shuttle Endeavour for mission STS-118 to the International Space Station

22:35 GMT (6:35 p.m. EDT): One minute until launch. Power is switched to internal. The main engines will fire at T-6.6 seconds. After nominal running is confirmed to two solid rocket boosters are ignited.

22:34 GMT (6:34 p.m. EDT): T-2 and counting. The crew closed their helmets.

22:33 GMT (6:33 p.m. EDT): The fuel tap-off arm is retracted.

22:31 GMT (6:31 p.m. EDT): T-5 and counting. Auxiliary power units are started and all looks good for launch. The range safety devices are armed.

22:29 GMT (6:29 p.m. EDT): The orbiter access arm is retracted.

22:27 GMT (6:27 p.m. EDT): T-9 and counting. The Shuttle entered the final phase before launch. The control is given to the automatic ground launch sequencer for the launch at 22:36 GMT.

22:23 GMT (6:23 p.m. EDT): All systems are go for launch. 4 minutes remaining in the hold. The weather is very good today.

22:11 GMT (6:11 p.m. EDT): All Transatlantic Abort Landing (TAL) sites are available in case an abort would be necessary.

21:42 GMT (5:42 p.m. EDT): T-9 and holding. We reached the final hold. This hold gives the Launch Director the chance to get the go/no-go decisions of the launch team and to target the launch for the available launch window.

21:31 GMT (5:31 p.m. EDT): T-20 and counting. The Shuttle’s computers are switched to flight configuration. The cabin is being pressurized. The problem with the hatch has been solved.

21:21 GMT (5:21 p.m. EDT): T-20 and holding. This build-in hold enables the Shuttle Test Director for final briefings. The final preflight data is submitted to the crew and the Shuttle’s main computers.

21:09 GMT (5:09 p.m. EDT): There are a few problems with the hatch. The first try to close it indicated no proper seal. The hatch is now closed for the second time and checking is underway if it is correctly sealed.

19:06 GMT (3:06 p.m. EDT): The crew of the Endeavour arrived at the launch pad and prepares to enter the Shuttle.
The wind freshed up a bit but the weather remains good for launch.

12:14 GMT (8:14 a.m. EDT): The External Tank is being fuelled with liquid oxygen and liquid hydrogen. The tank supplies the Shuttle’s three main engines during its ascent.

The weather situation currently looks good for the launch today. It’s a bit cloudy but the wind is calm. For the weekend, in case the launch is delayed, the weather will go worse, even Thunderstorms are predicted.

11:36 GMT (7:36 a.m. EDT): The fuel cells of the Shuttle are activated and all not necessary people will leave the launch pad area.

August 7, 2007: The Space Shuttle Endeavour stands ready for launch today on Pad 39A. We will provide you with live coverage of all upcoming events. The launch is planned for 6:36 p.m. EDT / 22:36 GMT on August 8.

The 119th flight in space shuttle history and the 22nd to the station is commanded by veteran astronaut Scott Kelly, a Navy commander, 43. Endeavour is scheduled to be launched from NASAʹs Kennedy Space Center’s Launch Pad 39‐A on an 11‐day flight. During the mission, the crew will deliver a new segment for the stationʹs backbone, install a spare parts platform and swap out a failed gyroscope used to orient the station.

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2014 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use