Headlines > News > Russia launches Proton-M carrier rocket from Baikonur space center

Russia launches Proton-M carrier rocket from Baikonur space center

Published by Klaus Schmidt on Wed Sep 21, 2011 7:27 am via: RIA Novosti
Share
More share options
Tools
Tags

Russia’s Proton-M carrier rocket with a military purpose spacecraft was launched early on Wednesday from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan, a Space Forces spokesman said

The launch took place at 2:47 Moscow time (22:47 GMT Tuesday), as scheduled.

“The spacecraft is scheduled to separate from the Briz-M booster at 11:48 Moscow time [7:48 GMT],” Col. Alexei Zolotukhin said.

The Russian aerospace industry has recently faced a series of misfortunes. On August 18, a Russian Proton-M rocket lost the prized Express-AM4 satellite that was designed to provide digital television and secure government communications for Siberia and the Far East.

One week after the Express-AM4 went off course, a Soyuz-U booster malfunctioned, preventing the Progress M-12M cargo spacecraft from reaching orbit. Its debris fell in Gorny Altai, Russia.

Copyright 2011 RIA Novosti. All rights reserved.

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2014 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use