Headlines > News > Russia launches U.S. telecoms satellite

Russia launches U.S. telecoms satellite

Published by Klaus Schmidt on Sat May 21, 2011 7:15 am via: RIA Novosti
Share
More share options
Tools
Tags

Russia has launched a Proton-M heavy carrier rocket with a U.S. telstar-14R telecommunications satellite from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan, the Russian space agency Roscosmos said.

The rocket lifted off at 11.15 p.m. Moscow time (19:15 GMT) on Friday.

“The separation of the satellite from the Briz-M booster is expected at 08.28 a.m. Moscow time [04:28 GMT] on May 21, and at that point Russia will fulfill its part of the launch mission,” a Roscosmos spokesman said.

Telstar -14R is a commercial satellite produced by the U.S. Space Systems/Loral company for leading satellite operator Telesat. It carries 46 Ku-band fixed and switchable transponders.

The satellite will replace Telstar 14 satellite at its orbital location to provide broadband coverage for Brazil, continental United States, the Gulf of Mexico, the northern and southern Caribbean, the Central America, and the northern and central Atlantic.

The 5-ton satellite has a service life of at least 15 years.

Friday’s mission is the first for Proton-M this year and 364th overall for this class of Russian carrier rockets.

Copyright 2011 RIA Novosti. All rights reserved.

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2014 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use