Headlines > News > LIVE COVERAGE: Space Shuttle STS-117 Launch (updated 0:51 GMT)

LIVE COVERAGE: Space Shuttle STS-117 Launch (updated 0:51 GMT)

Published by Klaus Schmidt on Fri Jun 8, 2007 7:36 am
Share
More share options
Tools

0:51 GMT (7:51 p.m. EDT): The Shuttle will fire its Orbital Maneuvering System several times over the next hours to circularize the orbit and rendezvous with the International Space Station.

0:46 GMT (7:46 p.m. EDT): Main Engine Cut-Off or MECO. The Shuttle used all the fuel in the External Tank and shut down its three main engines. The main tank is jettisoned and photographed to check for missing foam.

0:40 GMT (7:40 p.m. EDT): Jettison of the solid rocket boosters. The Shuttle reached 48 kilometers altitude.

0:39 GMT (7:39 p.m. EDT): The Shuttle reached Max-Q, the maximum dynamic pressure in about 10 kilometers altitude. The main engines are therefore throttled back to 75%.

0:38 GMT (7:38 p.m. EDT): We have lift-off of Shuttle Atlantis for mission STS-117 to the International Space Station

0:37 GMT (7:37 p.m. EDT): One minute until launch. Power is switched to internal. The main engines will fire at T-6.6 seconds. After nominal running is confirmed to two solid rocket boosters are ignited.

0:36 GMT (7:36 p.m. EDT): T-2 and counting. The crew closed their helmets.

0:35 GMT (7:35 p.m. EDT): The fuel tap-off arm is retracted.

0:33 GMT (7:33 p.m. EDT): T-5 and counting. Auxiliary power units are started and all looks good for launch. The range safety devices are armed.

0:31 GMT (7:31 p.m. EDT): The orbiter access arm is retracted.

0:29 GMT (7:29 p.m. EDT): T-9 and counting. The Shuttle entered the final phase before launch. The control is given to the automatic ground launch sequencer for the launch at 0:38 GMT.

0:25 GMT (7:25 p.m. EDT): All system are go for launch. 4 minutes remaining in the hold.

0:04 GMT (7:04 p.m. EDT): The landing site in Istrês, France is now again available. Therefore the primary TAL site is switched from Zaragossa, Spain to Istrês.

23:48 GMT (6:48 p.m. EDT): There’s currently a no-go on the weather situation at the TALs, the Transatlantic Abort Landing sites.

23:44 GMT (6:44 p.m. EDT): T-9 and holding. We reached the final hold. This hold gives the Launch Director the chance to get the go/no-go decisions of the launch team and to target the launch for the available launch window.

23:33 GMT (6:33 p.m. EDT): T-20 and counting. The Shuttle’s computers are switched to flight configuration. The cabin is being pressurized.

23:23 GMT (6:23 p.m. EDT): T-20 and holding. This build-in hold enables the Shuttle Test Director for final briefings. The final preflight data is submitted to the crew and the Shuttle’s main computers.

21:08 GMT (4:08 p.m. EDT): The crew of the Atlantis arrived at the launch pad and prepares to enter the Shuttle.
The wind freshed up a bit but the weather remains good for launch.

14:16 GMT (9:16 a.m. EDT): The External Tank is being fueled with liquid oxygen and liquid hydrogen. The tank supplies the Shuttle’s three main engines during its ascent.
The weather situation currently looks good for the launch today. It’s a bit cloudy but the wind is calm. For the weekend, in case the launch is delayed, the weather will go worse, even Thunderstorms are predicted.

13:38 GMT (8:38 a.m. EDT): The fuel cells of the Shuttle are activated and all not necessary people will leave the launch pad area.

June 8, 2007: The Space Shuttle Atlantis stands ready for launch today on Pad 39A. We will provide you with live coverage of all upcoming events. The launch is planned for 7:38 p.m. EDT / 0:38 GMT June 9.

Atlantis’ crew will install a new set of solar arrays on the starboard side of the station. These arrays will be a mirror image of those installed on the port side in September, and like the crew that installed the port arrays, the STS-117 crew will be in charge of unfolding the arrays and preparing them to track the sun and generate power.

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2014 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use