Headlines > News > Russia's Progress M-06M space freighter to be launched to ISS

Russia's Progress M-06M space freighter to be launched to ISS

Published by Matt on Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:48 am via: RIA Novosti
Share
More share options
Tools
Tags

A Soyuz-U carrier rocket with space cargo ship Progress M-06M will be launched to the International Space Station at 19:35 Moscow time [15:35 GMT] today, the Russian space agency Roscosmos said.

Russia's unmanned Progress spacecraft

Russia's unmanned Progress spacecraft

A Roscosmos spokesman said the launch will be made from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan.

“The Progress M-06M space freighter will deliver to the ISS fuel, oxygen, scientific equipment, video and photo equipment, containers with food and water and parcels for the ISS crew,” he said.

The spaceship is to dock with the space station in automatic mode on July 2 at 20:55 Moscow time [16:55 GMT].

Preparations have already been made for the rocket’s arrival. In early June, Russia’s Mission Control readjusted the ISS orbit, raising it by 2.5 kilometers (1.6 miles) to ensure the best conditions for the docking of the Soyuz TMA-19 manned spacecraft and the Progress M-06M space cargo ship.

On Monday, the ISS crew moved the Soyuz TMA-19, docked with the Zvezda module, to the Rassvet research module in a 24-minute maneuver to make room for the Progress M-06M.

MOSCOW, June 30 (RIA Novosti)

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2014 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use