Headlines > News > LIVE COVERAGE: Proton Anik F3 Launch (updated 23:14 GMT)

LIVE COVERAGE: Proton Anik F3 Launch (updated 23:14 GMT)

Published by Klaus Schmidt on Mon Apr 9, 2007 5:50 pm
Share
More share options
Tools

International Launch Services (ILS) reports that they successfully placed the Anik F3 satellite into orbit.

23:14 GMT (7:14 p.m. EDT): End of the Breeze M first burn. The Anik F3-Breeze M combination is now in a parking orbit. Four more burns of the Breeze M are now required until satellite seperation during the next 9 hours.

23:05 GMT (7:05 p.m. EDT): First firing of the Breeze M upper stage.

23:03 GMT (7:03 p.m. EDT): Successful shutdown of the third stage. The primary launch phase of the Proton is concluded. The satellite is now in a suborbital trajectory together with the Breeze M fourth stage, that will fire several times over the next 9 hours to achieve the correct orbit.

22:59 GMT (6:59 p.m. EDT): The payload fairing has been jettisoned.

22:59 GMT (6:59 p.m. EDT): Shutdown of the second stage and ignition of the third stage after 331 seconds of flight.

22:56 GMT (6:56 p.m. EDT): First stage shutdown and stage seperation. Successful ignition of the second stage. The rocket passed 40 kilometers altitude.

22:55 GMT (6:55 p.m. EDT): The Proton passed the maximum dynamic pressure, Max-Q.

22:54 GMT (6:54 p.m. EDT): Liftoff of the Proton rocket with the Anik F3 satellite.

22:49 GMT (6:49 p.m. EDT): 5 minutes remaining on the countdown. Start of the synchronized launch sequence. Launch control is switched to computers and power is transferring to internal sources.

22:44 GMT (6:44 p.m. EDT): 10 minutes until launch. All looks good so far.

17:54 GMT (1:54 p.m. EDT): We are 5 hours away from the night launch of the telecommunications satellite Anik F3 on an International Launch Services’ Proton rocket from Baikonur, Kazakhstan. The countdown activities commenced.
The weather report looks good so far, winds are calm.

Background:

The Proton Breeze M launch vehicle, utilizing a 5-burn Breeze M mission design, will lift off from Pad 39 at the Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan, with the Anik F3 satellite on board. The first three stages of the Proton will use a standard ascent trajectory to place the Breeze M fourth stage and the Anik F3 satellite into a sub-orbital trajectory, from which the Breeze M will place itself and the spacecraft into a circular reference parking orbit. Once Anik F3 is in the reference orbit, it will be propelled into its transfer orbit by a series of additional burns of the Breeze M. Separation occurs approximately 9 hours, 11 minutes after liftoff.

Anik F3 is a commercial communications satellite built by EADS Astrium for Telesat. The satellite has three payloads: a 32 channel Ku-band, a 24 channel C-band, and a 2 channel Ka-band. The C-band and Ku-band payloads will carry a wide range of telecommunications, broadcasting, business communications and Internet-based services throughout North America. The small Ka-band payload will supplement services now being carried on Anik F2. Anik F3 will be located at 118.7 degrees West longitude.

Copyright 2007 The International Space Fellowship. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2014 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use