Headlines > News > LIVE: SpaceX Falcon 9 Maiden Flight achieved Earth Orbit!

LIVE: SpaceX Falcon 9 Maiden Flight achieved Earth Orbit!

Published by Klaus Schmidt on Fri Jun 4, 2010 2:02 pm
Share
More share options
Tools
Tags

Here is the video for the ones who missed the live stream or if you just want to see it again.

18:55 GMT (2:55pm EDT):Falcon 9 has achieved Earth Orbit!

Falcon 9 has achieved Earth Orbit! Credit: SpaceX  Falcon 9 is approaching maximum dynamic pressure (Max Q)

Falcon 9 has achieved Earth Orbit! Credit: SpaceX Falcon 9 is approaching maximum dynamic pressure (Max Q)

18:52 GMT (2:52pm EDT):As expected, the radiatively cooled expansion nozzle of the engine is glowing red hot. This operates like the Falcon 1 vehicle, but larger.

As expected, the radiatively cooled expansion nozzle of the engine is glowing red hot. This operates like the Falcon 1 vehicle, but larger. Credit: SpaceX

As expected, the radiatively cooled expansion nozzle of the engine is glowing red hot. This operates like the Falcon 1 vehicle, but larger. Credit: SpaceX

18:51 GMT (2:51pm EDT):Second Stage Ignition

Second Stage Ignition. Credit: SpaceX

Second Stage Ignition. Credit: SpaceX

Second Stage Separation. Credit: SpaceX

Second Stage Separation. Credit: SpaceX

18:50 GMT (2:50pm EDT):Plume behind the vehicle is expanding as the atmosphere thins, as expected

Falcon 9 on it's way to orbit. Credit: SpaceX

Falcon 9 on it's way to orbit. Credit: SpaceX

18:48 GMT (2:48pm EDT):Falcon 9 is approaching maximum dynamic pressure (Max Q)

Falcon 9 on it's way to orbit. Credit: SpaceX

Falcon 9 on it's way to orbit. Credit: SpaceX

18:45 GMT (2:45pm EDT): Falcon 9 has Launched!

Falcon 9 has Launched! Credit: SpaceX

Falcon 9 has Launched! Credit: SpaceX

18:40 GMT (2:40pm EDT): T-5 minutes and counting. Everything is on go.

18:35 GMT (2:35pm EDT): Mission Control has reset the countdown clock to T minus 15 for another attempt.

17:50 GMT (1:50 pm EDT): The countdown has been reset to T-15 minutes, still on hold. There is still time in today’s launch window for another attempt.

17:40 GMT (1:40 pm EDT): It looks as if they may have experienced a shutdown condition just after ignition. In these situations the vehicle puts itself into “safe mode”. There may be the chance to “recycle” the count and try again.

17:30 GMT (1:30 pm EDT): The launch has been stopped after engine ignition, one second before lift-off.

17:29 GMT (1:29 pm EDT): One minute until lift-off.

17:25 GMT (1:25 pm EDT): T-5 minutes and counting. Everything is on go.

17:15 GMT (1:15 pm EDT): The countdown has resumed at T-15 minutes.

16:07 GMT (12:07 pm EDT): The clock is still on hold.

15:08 GMT (11:08 am EDT): The hold has been extended due to range issues.

15:04 GMT (11:04 am EDT): Currently the rocket is in a built-in hold at T-15.

14:54 GMT (10:54 am EDT): Launch is scheduled for 15:20 GMT.

14:43 GMT (10:43 am EDT): The launch window for today’s Falcon 9 launch will open in about 20 minutes at 15:00 GMT (11 am EDT).

The SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket sits poised on Cape Canaveral to begin a new era in space flight. Credit: SpaceX

The SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket sits poised on Cape Canaveral to begin a new era in space flight. Credit: SpaceX

Falcon 9 Test Launch:

SpaceX will have a launch window on Friday, June 4 and Saturday, June 5, each from 15 GMT for 4 hours. The rocket will carry a Dragon capsule.

Falcon 9 ist a two-stage rocket, with nine Merlin 1C engines on the first stage, burning kerosene and liquid oxygen. The second stage is powered by a single Merlin engine. The rocket stands 55 meters tall.

For more info on SpaceX and the Falcon 9 Maiden Flight take a look at our previous article

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2014 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use