Headlines > News > Russian spacecraft successfully orbits 3 Glonass satellites

Russian spacecraft successfully orbits 3 Glonass satellites

Published by Klaus Schmidt on Tue Mar 2, 2010 10:55 am via: RIA Novosti
Share
More share options
Tools
Tags

MOSCOW, (RIA Novosti) – A Proton-M carrier rocket has successfully orbited three Glonass satellites, a spokesman for the Space Forces said on Tuesday.

The Proton-M carrier rocket bearing three satellites was launched from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan on March 2 at 0:19 Moscow time (22:19 GMT, March 1).

Alexei Zolotukhin said that stable telemetric communication was established with the satellites, which were orbited at 3:51 Moscow time (0:51 GMT).

Glonass – the Global Navigation Satellite System – is the Russian equivalent of the U.S. Global Positioning System, or GPS, and is designed for both military and civilian use. Both systems allow users to determine their positions to within a few meters.

Russia currently has a total of 22 Glonass satellites in orbit, but only 16 of them are operational. The system requires 18 operational satellites for continuous navigation services covering the entire territory of Russia and at least 24 satellites to provide navigation services worldwide.

Copyright 2010 RIA Novosti. All rights reserved.

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2014 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use