Headlines > News > Proton-M rocket with Intelsat-16 satellite blasts off

Proton-M rocket with Intelsat-16 satellite blasts off

Published by Klaus Schmidt on Fri Feb 12, 2010 9:02 am via: RIA Novosti
Share
More share options
Tools
Tags

(RIA Novosti) – Russia successfully launched the Proton-M carrier rocket with a U.S. telecommunications satellite Intelsat-16 on Friday, a spokesman for Russia’s space agency said.

The launch from the Baikonur Space Center in Kazakhstan is Russia’s first commercial launch this year.

“The liftoff took place at 03:39 Moscow time [00:39 GMT], estimated separation time of the Briz-M booster is 13:14 Moscow time [10:14 GMT],” the source said.

The Intelsat-16 satellite was developed by Orbital Sciences Corporation for the Intelsat Ltd., a leading provider of satellite services worldwide. It is equipped with 24 transponders and will provide telecommunications services to customers in Brazil and Mexico.

Intelsat Ltd. operates the world’s most extensive satellite network, comprising over 50 satellites.

Copyright 2010 RIA Novosti. All rights reserved.

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2014 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use