Headlines > News > Ariane 5 Ready For INSAT 4B And Skynet 5A Launch

Ariane 5 Ready For INSAT 4B And Skynet 5A Launch

Published by Klaus Schmidt on Mon Mar 5, 2007 11:13 pm
Share
More share options
Tools

An Ariane 5 rocket is being readied for the launch of INSAT 4B and Skynet 5A on March 9, 2007. The launch window will open at 22:25 GMT (5:25 p.m. EST) and remain open until 22:58 GMT (5:58 p.m. EST).

INSAT 4B is a telecommunications satellite from the Indian Space Research Organisation. It will carry a total of 24 transponders and weighs about 3,000 kilograms.

Skynet 5A, built by EADS Astrium, is a military communications satellite for the United Kingdom. The satellite weighs about 4,700 kilograms.

The Ariane 5 will fly in its ECA version with a cryogenic upper stage powered by the HM7B engine. The launch will take place at Kourou Space Center in French Guiana.

A live coverage will be available on the Space Fellowship. Join us on launch day for up-to-date information.

Feel free to discuss this article in the forum…

Copyright 2007 The Space Fellowship. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2014 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use