Headlines > News > Delta II Rocket Set to Launch WISE Spacecraft

Delta II Rocket Set to Launch WISE Spacecraft

Published by Matt on Mon Dec 14, 2009 1:05 pm via: NASA
Share
More share options
Tools
Tags

It’s launch day at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California, where a Delta II rocket is poised to launch NASA’s Wide-field Infrared Survey Explorer, or WISE.

An United Launch Alliance Delta II rocket with NASA’s Wide-field Infrared Survey Explorer (WISE) satellite sits poised ready for launch on its Space Launch Complex-2 launch pad here. Credit: Bill Hartenstein, ULA

An United Launch Alliance Delta II rocket with NASA’s Wide-field Infrared Survey Explorer (WISE) satellite sits poised ready for launch on its Space Launch Complex-2 launch pad here. Credit: Bill Hartenstein, ULA

Liftoff from Space Launch Complex-2 West is scheduled for the beginning of a launch window that extends from 6:09:33 to 6:23:51 a.m. PST (9:09:33 to 9:23:51 a.m. EST).

The weather forecast has diminished slightly to 60-percent favorable conditions at launch time. The main concern is cumulus cloud cover.

The mobile service tower was rolled away overnight and the launch team is working through the prelaunch checklist.

NASA TV and NASA’s Launch Blog coverage began at 4 a.m. PST (7 a.m. EST).

The WISE spacecraft will circle Earth over the poles, scanning the entire sky one-and-a-half times in nine months. The mission will uncover hidden cosmic objects, including the coolest stars, dark asteroids and the most luminous galaxies.

No comments
Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this article!
Leave a reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.
© 2014 The International Space Fellowship, developed by Gabitasoft Interactive. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy | Terms of Use