Gravity in space

Posted by: Stefan Sigwarth - Sat Aug 21, 2004 11:30 am
 [ 56 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Gravity in space 
Space Station Member
Space Station Member
Post Gravity in space   Posted on: Sat Aug 21, 2004 11:30 am
Hello fellows, i'm new here and i am not a space engineer, so please don't shoot me. :wink:

If space tourisme really wants to lift off, (imo) it can't rely upon just the healthy population of our planet. Off course at first, when sub-orbit is only for those who can afford it, but when space tourism will really boom and it will get below € 10k, you can't sent people to a weightless environment for more then a day. Supposedly you stay at least 3 days in orbit for someone new to space, i'm sure no one can sleep or can use any 'corridors' without crashing into everything and everyone, no doubt causing some damage along the way.

In a sense, its entirely unpractical for the normal man who has not a lot of hours working inside a space station. You must ensure that these tourists will not just float around and bump into everything, or you will need to steer/sent them to another place, for say with a rail where you can attach yourself (the tourist) to it, in order to get another view, to eat or something like that. Obviously, this would look rather hilarious and accidents will easily happen in such manner.

Nor can you give every tourist a crash course in spacetraining, that would certainly crank up the price and the duration of the whole story. So you would probably need to create a earth-like environment where any person, young or old, can walk around as normal as here on earth. With the current technology, that would be nearly impossible but it certainly must be possible to create enough gravity so at least your brains have no trouble disorientating or your internal organs will float around alot, no doubt resulting in a messy place.