Community > Forum > Technology & Science > Air-augemented rocket or Ramjet?

Air-augemented rocket or Ramjet?

Posted by: Alex A - Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:19 pm
 [ 28 posts ] 
Air-augemented rocket or Ramjet? 
Spaceflight Trainee
Spaceflight Trainee
Post Air-augemented rocket or Ramjet?   Posted on: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:19 pm
Both air-augmented rockets (rocket in a duct) and ramjets offer better Isp than pure rockets.

I wonder why niether are on any X-prixe ships?

Moon Mission Member
Moon Mission Member
Location: Kapellen, Antwerp, Belgium, Europe, Planet Earth, the Milky Way Galaxy
Post Re: Air-augemented rocket or Ramjet?   Posted on: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:41 pm
Alex A wrote:
Both air-augmented rockets (rocket in a duct) and ramjets offer better Isp than pure rockets.

I'm not an expert, but I guess the development of a Ramjets or Scramjets is a lot more complex and more difficult to achieve.. so for the teams their first vehicle.. I think it will cost too much time and too much money.

Some info: http://www.dfrc.nasa.gov/Research/HyperX/ramscram.html

"Scramjet technology is challenging because only limited testing can be performed in ground facilities. Long duration, full-scale testing requires flight test speeds above Mach 8. "

Profile WWW
Spaceflight Participant
Spaceflight Participant
Post    Posted on: Fri Jun 18, 2004 9:58 pm
I know that a couple of teams incorporated such technology in their original designs, but as Sigurd said they obviously decided it wasn't worth it at the moment. That doesn't mean that there won't be in the future though.

As the X-prize has shown, private companies are more than willing to try out new (or relatively new at least) concepts compared to the national agencies. It wouldn't surprise me if one team pics up on air breathing rockets at some point.

Post    Posted on: Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:36 am
I tend to think the Government agencies love long experimental projects.