Community > Forum > Technology & Science > who will be the first?

who will be the first?

Posted by: p1c3rd - Sat Apr 16, 2005 12:52 pm
 [ 10 posts ] 
who will be the first? 
Spaceflight Enthusiast
Spaceflight Enthusiast
Post who will be the first?   Posted on: Sat Apr 16, 2005 12:52 pm
Who will be the first to create a stable fusion reaction to power a suitable impulse engine. I've been working on the problem for about two years. It seems to me that trying to recreate the sun's surface temperature of 10,000,000 degrees celsius, is not viable at this time, so what other options are there? Sonoluminescence? would this work? Probably not having recreated the experiment several times myself. So where does that leave us? In short, one brilliant mind away from achieving it. I certainly am not that person. However, having studied the principles of Impulse driven engines I guess that it can be achieved using fission reaction instead of fusion reaction. The energy from the reactor(either plasma or steam) Could be used to push and retract the impulse engines at a suitable rate. Anyone can build an impulse engine from a spring and some bolts. (just put "impulse engines" Into google) I don't think man will progress very far into deep space without A)Artificial gravity B)Fusion based power source.

Spaceflight Participant
Spaceflight Participant
Post    Posted on: Sat Apr 16, 2005 1:52 pm
Any type of engine that produces emissions uses fuel, so, regardless of how efficient it is, unless a vehicle can gather fuel during a voyage, it'll run out eventually because it's fuel source is finite.