Community > Forum > Space Exploration Technologies (SpaceX) Forum > Idea for simulation or implimentation

Idea for simulation or implimentation

Posted by: Sigma - Wed Mar 21, 2012 6:05 pm
 [ 12 posts ] 
Idea for simulation or implimentation 
Space Station Member
Space Station Member
Post Idea for simulation or implimentation   Posted on: Wed Mar 21, 2012 6:05 pm
Hello, I am an engineering student who has an idea that may or may not be plausible as it is a little more then I know how to simulate or build.

Stage 1 maglev accelerator gets ship to mach 1

Stage 2 scramjets get to speed at which plasma is developed on the main heat shield

Stage 3 use emf or waves to manipulate plasma to accelerate and or reduce drag on ship qnd exploit losses from heating and drag.

Thats pretty much what I have so far.

Space Walker
Space Walker
Post Re: Idea for simulation or implimentation   Posted on: Thu Apr 26, 2012 8:23 am
There's no point in staying in atmosphere longer than necessary and Stage 2 should see you out of most of the atmosphere before you're developing plasma provided your scramjet can get you sufficient velocity which they presently aren't anywhere near capable of doing.

That's why current vehicles have no heatshield, only an aerodynamic nose cone. Staying in atmosphere longer than necessary is inefficient and eats margin. Bit of a trade-off in utilising the rotational energy of the Earth while getting altitude as quickly as possible to escape atmospheric drag.

Stage 3 - no idea but good luck.

Space Station Member
Space Station Member
Post Re: Idea for simulation or implimentation   Posted on: Sun May 06, 2012 5:26 pm